The Australian & New Zealand Association of Paediatric Surgeons was formed in May 1979 to represent Paediatric Surgeons training and practising in Australia and New Zealand and in overseas postings.

Summary of the Early History of the ANZAPS

Much of this information was provided by Colin Smith, former Royal Australasian College of Surgeons Archivist.

The Section of Paediatric Surgery within the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) was established in 1963 (Council Minutes, 17 October 1965) and upgraded to a Division of Paediatric Surgery (now known as Specialty of Paediatric Surgery) in 1983 (Section 7, Council Minutes, 27-28 October 1983).  The Section of Paediatric Surgery and the AAPS were linked within the RACS scheme of embracing specialties in 1981 (Section 7, Council Minutes, 26 June 1981, p. 39).

File 505 in Series C12, held in the Archives (a file of the College Secretary, dated 1979) contains correspondence notifying the RACS of the formation of the Australian Association of Paediatric Surgeons in May, 1979, and the disbanding in its favour of the surgical section of the Australian College of Paediatrics.

The AAPS also expressed a wish to cooperate with the Section of Paediatric Surgery within RACS (which was making a big effort at the time, led by Mr Durham Smith, to rationalise its relationships to specialist societies and link them all to its own internal specialists' organisations).

It is of interest that the AAPS was considered to render redundant a section of surgery within the Australian College of Paediatrics, but not to supercede a Section of Paediatrics within the RACS.

There is a reference (file C12/176) to the 13th Annual Meeting of the Australian Paediatric Association in 1968, which would indicate that the APA was formed in 1955.  There is a related reference (Section 7, Council Minutes, 27-28 September 1972) to the formation of a Surgical Section of the Australian Paediatric Association.

The first reference to the introduction of paediatrics to the list of specialties of the finals FRACS Examination was in May 1957 in an examination held in Wellington and Melbourne, commencing May 3, 1957.  Paediatrics examiners were Russell Howard and E G McKay, and two candidates presented in paediatrics, both of whom were approved.  Altogether, three candidates because paediatric surgeons: Peter Jones, Robert Fowler and Geoffrey Wyllie.  The son of another successful candidate at that examination became a paediatric surgeon.

Compiled by Spencer Beasley, President, AAPS (when he stood as Secretary in 1991)

ANZAPS President


1979-1981 Mr Peter Griffith Jones (Victoria)
1981-1983 Geoff G Wyllie (South Australia)
1983-1985 Mr Alastair Mackellar (Western Australia)
1985-1987 Mr Edward Durham-Smith (Victoria)
1987-1989 Mr Kenneth Edgar Treloar Little (South Australia)
1989-1991 Professor Aubrey Charles "Toby" Bowring (New South Wales)
1991-1993 Associate Professor Robert Anthony McMahon (Victoria)
1993-1995 Mr Martin John Glasson (New South Wales)
1995-1997 Mr John Frederick Leditschke (Queensland)
1997-1999 Mr Gordon Stuart Baron-Hay (Western Australia)
1999-2001 Mr Justin Henry Kelly (Victoria)
2001-2003 Mr John Pitkin (New South Wales)
2003-2005 Mr Keith Bradley Stokes (Victoria)
2005-2007 Professor Spencer Wynyard Beasley (New Zealand)
2007-2009 Mr Hugh Martin, AM (New South Wales)
2009-2011 Mr Anthony Sparnon (South Australia)
2011-2013 Professor Ralph Cohen (New South Wales)
2013 -2015 Associate Professor Deborah Bailey (Queensland)
2015 -2017 Mr Philip Morreau (New Zealand)
2017-current Mr Russell Taylor (Victoria)
ANZAPS Secretary/Treasurer


1987-1989 Professor Danny Cass (New South Wales)
1989-1994 Professor Spencer Beasley (Victoria)
1994-1997 Mr Neil McMullin (Victoria)
1997-2004 Mr Colin Kikiros (Western Australia)
2004-2008 Mr Philip Morreau (New Zealand)
2008-2012 Mr Robert Stunden (New South Wales)
2012-2017 Mr Russell Taylor (Victoria)
2017-current Dr Guy Henry (New South Wales)
ANZAPS Annual Scientific Meetings


Year Location Scientific Convenor Scientific Visitor
1997 Christchurch Professor Spencer Beasley Professor Scott Adzick
1998 Sydney
1999 Broome Mr Ian Gollow Dr Kathryn Anderson (USA)
2000 Melbourne Professor Patrick Dewan Professor Eric Heineman (New Zealand)
2001 Brisbane Professor Juan Tovar (Spain)
2002 Adelaide Associate Professor Andrew Ford Professor Philip L Glick (USA)
2003 Sydney Associate Professor Ralph Cohen
2004 Melbourne Mr Chris Kimber Professor Agostino Pierro (UK)
2005 Townsville Mr Harry Stalewski Mr Richard Spicer (UK)
2006 Sydney Mr Guy Henry Dr David van der Zee (The Netherlands)
2007 Queenstown Professor Kevin Pringle
2008 Hong Kong Mr Tom Clarnette Professor Heinz Rode (South Africa), Dr HuiMin Xia (China), Mr Mark Davenport (United Kingdom)
2009 Fiji Mr Philip Morreau Associate Professor Paul Babyn (Canada), Prof Stephen Fishman (USA)
2010 Perth Mr Colin Kikiros Associate Professor Rosslyn Walker (Australia)
2011 Coolum, QLD Mr Craig McBride & Mr Christopher Bourke Professor George Youngson (Scotland)
2012 Malaysia Dr Wee Yan Chia Dr Anne Rachel John (Malaysia)
2013 Hunter Valley, NSW Professor Andrew Holland Professor Agostino Pierro (UK)
2014 Singapore Mr Michael Nightingale Clinical Associate Professor Anette Jacobsen (Singapore), Professor Krishnan Prabhakaran (Singapore)
2015 Auckland Mr Philip Morreau Dr Michael LaQuaglia (USA)
2016 Brisbane Dr Craig McBride &
Dr Bhavesh Patel
Dr Daniel Von Allmen
2017 Adelaide Associate Professor Day Way Goh Mr Paolo De Coppi (UK)
2018 Sydney Associate Professor Jonathan Karpelowsky Professor George Holcomb (USA)
History Articles

History of Paediatric Centres in Australia: The Evolution of Paediatric Surgery in Newcastle and the Hunter Valley (New South Wales)J Wright, 1998


Last Updated : Wednesday, October 17, 2018